De Niro, Pfeiffer Join "Stardust" Cast
  |  @   |  

Robert De Niro, Michelle Pfeiffer, and Claire Danes have been cast in "Stardust," based on the 1997 award-winning Neil Gaiman novel of the same name. The movie, which will be directed by Matthew Vaughn ("Layer Cake"), will also star Sienna Miller and Charlie Cox, who worked together in "Casanova."

"Stardust" is an adult fairy tale in which our hero, the young Tristran Thorne (Cox) of the fictional English village of Wall, travels to the land of Faerie to find a fallen star to bestow upon Victoria (Miller), the girl he wants to marry. In Faerie, Tristran meets magical creatures and powerful adversaries, including a witch (Pfeiffer) and a pirate (De Niro), and learns the true nature, power, and value of fallen stars.

Neil Gaiman, who will serve as a producer, also confirmed on his official website today that Mark Strong ("Tristan and Isolde") will play Septimus, who is embroiled in a fierce competition with this brothers to rule the kingdom of Faerie.

Filming for "Stardust" begins in Great Britain and Iceland this April.

"I am delighted to be able to work with such a stellar cast in bringing the magic of ‘Stardust’ to the screen," said Vaughn, who also wrote the screenplay with Jane Goodman.

1 Comment »

  1. Wow, sound like a great ensemble. Can’t wait to see it. This is another example of a movie that probably wouldn’t have been made without the advance of CGI.

    Comment by tstar — March 8, 2006 @ 7:16 am

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Leave a comment

Topics: Movies, News
Previous Article
Next Article
468x60 AD END ROS -->
2021  ·   2020  ·   2019  ·   2018  ·   2017  ·   2016  ·   2015  ·   2014  ·   2013  ·   2012  ·   2011  ·   2010  ·   2009  ·   2008  ·   2007  ·   2006  ·   2005
Geeks of Doom is proudly powered by WordPress.

Students of the Unusual™ comic cover used with permission of 3BoysProductions
The Mercuri Bros.™ comic cover used with permission of Prodigal Son Press

Geeks of Doom is designed and maintained by our geeky webmaster
All original content copyright ©2005-2021 Geeks of Doom
All external content copyright of its respective owner, except where noted

This website is licensed under
a Creative Commons License.
About | Privacy Policy | Contact