James Newton Howard To Replace Danny Elfman As ‘Green Hornet’ Composer
  |  @   |  

For a while now, Danny Elfman has been attached to compose the musical score for Michel Gondry‘s upcoming crime fighting action-comedy The Green Hornet, but it looks like a last-minute change is unfolding.

The Playlist is reporting that they’re sources are saying that Elfman is now out due to simply having too many other projects on his plate. They’re also hearing that the man currently in talks to replace him is James Newton Howard, who also happens to be handling the score for Green Lantern as well. Fancy that.

Newton Howard has been around for decades, creating the scores for movies like Pretty Woman, Glengarry Glen Ross, and The Fugitive. Dating back to 1985, he has accumulated 121 Composer credits for movies of all genres. For many (myself included) it was his work on most of M. Night Shyamalan’s earlier films where he really made his presence known, and even you hate The Village it’s hard not to love Newton Howard’s score. Other memorable more recent works include Collateral, Peter Jackson’s King Kong, and The Dark Knight along with Hans Zimmer.

The Green Hornet stars Seth Rogen, Cameron Diaz, Jay Chou, Christoph Waltz, and Tom Wilkinson. It will be released on January 14, 2011.

No Comments »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Leave a comment

Topics: Movies, News
Previous Article
Next Article
You may have noticed that we're now AD FREE! Please support Geeks of Doom by using the Amazon Affiliate link above. All of our proceeds from the program go toward maintaining this site.
2023  ·   2022  ·   2021  ·   2020  ·   2019  ·   2018  ·   2017  ·   2016  ·   2015  ·   2014  ·  
2013  ·   2012  ·   2011  ·   2010  ·   2009  ·   2008  ·   2007  ·   2006  ·   2005
Geeks of Doom is proudly powered by WordPress.

Students of the Unusual™ comic cover used with permission of 3BoysProductions
The Mercuri Bros.™ comic cover used with permission of Prodigal Son Press

Geeks of Doom is designed and maintained by our geeky webmaster
All original content copyright ©2005-2023 Geeks of Doom
All external content copyright of its respective owner, except where noted

This website is licensed under
a Creative Commons License.
About | Privacy Policy | Contact