Red Hot Chili Peppers To Release Digital-Only Covers EP ‘We Salute You’
  |  @   |  

Yesterday I wrote that though the Red Hot Chili Peppers were just inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall Of Fame, to a early fan like me, they will always be four guys with socks on their dicks.

Now, the band has announced that in honor of their recent induction, they will be releasing a digital-only 6-song EP of cover tunes, called We Salute You. The EP, which will be available online starting May 1, 2012, has songs from previous Hall Of Fame inductees which the band was musically influenced by: The Ramones, Iggy & The Stooges, Neil Young, David Bowie, The Beach Boys, and Dion and the Belmonts. Three of the tunes are live versions, while five of the six tracks have never been available digitally.

Below is the full track listing, along with details on each track.

Track Listing

“A Teenager in Love” (Dion and the Belmonts)
“Havana Affair” (Ramones)
“Search & Destroy” (Iggy and the Stooges)
“Everybody Knows This is Nowhere” (Neil Young) [live]
“I Get Around” (The Beach Boys) [live]
“Suffragette City” (David Bowie) [live]

— “A Teenager In Love” was released as an international maxi-single
— “Havana Affair” was released as a 7″-single and featured on the compilation We’re A Happy Family: A Tribute To The Ramones
— “Search & Destroy” has only appeared on a now out-of-print maxi-CD
— “I Get Around” was first played during Brian Wilson’s 2005 MusiCares induction speech
— “Suffragette City” was previously only available as a B-side to the band’s single “Aeroplane.”
— “Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere” was recorded live during Red Hot Chili Peppers’ current tour supporting their album I’m With You.

This year’s Rock and Roll Hall Of Fame induction, which took place on April 13, 2012, will be shown on HBO on Saturday, May 5, 2012 at 9pm. Check out redhotchilipeppers.com to get purchase the EP.

Amazon.com Widgets

1 Comment »

  1. Just an FYI: “Search & Destroy” was also on the “Beavis and Butthead Experience” TV Soundtrack

    Comment by Joshua Rayfield — April 21, 2012 @ 1:50 am

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Leave a comment

Topics: Music, News
Previous Article
Next Article
You may have noticed that we're now AD FREE! Please support Geeks of Doom by using the Amazon Affiliate link above. All of our proceeds from the program go toward maintaining this site.
2023  ·   2022  ·   2021  ·   2020  ·   2019  ·   2018  ·   2017  ·   2016  ·   2015  ·   2014  ·  
2013  ·   2012  ·   2011  ·   2010  ·   2009  ·   2008  ·   2007  ·   2006  ·   2005
Geeks of Doom is proudly powered by WordPress.

Students of the Unusual™ comic cover used with permission of 3BoysProductions
The Mercuri Bros.™ comic cover used with permission of Prodigal Son Press

Geeks of Doom is designed and maintained by our geeky webmaster
All original content copyright ©2005-2023 Geeks of Doom
All external content copyright of its respective owner, except where noted

This website is licensed under
a Creative Commons License.
About | Privacy Policy | Contact