Listen To ‘The Jean Genie’ Cover Off The All-Star ‘West Of Memphis’ Soundtrack

Since it opened in limited release on Christmas Day, the Peter Jackson-produced documentary West of Memphis, which tells the harrowing tale of the arrest and conviction for the murder of the “West Memphis Three” – Jessie Misskelley, Damien Echols, and Jason Baldwin – and how forensic evidence led to their release from prison after more than 18 years, has garnished rave reviews and has been hailed by many as one of the best films of 2012.

Next Tuesday, a soundtrack album titled West of Memphis: Voices for Justice will be released by Sony’s Legacy label that features an all-star line-up of musicians and longtime supporters of the West Memphis Three. Today, we have for you the full track listing as well as the premiere of the first single off the album, a cover of the David Bowie classic “The Jean Genie” performed by Camp Freddy, a cover band featuring Dave Navarro of the Red Hot Chili Peppers and Jane’s Addiction on guitar and Matt Sorum of Guns N’ Roses on drums.

West of Memphis is currently playing in select theaters across the country. Voices for Justice will be released on CD and MP3 on Tuesday, January 15, 2013. You can check out the full track listing for the album here below, along with a video of the band performing the song in concert.

To listen to the Camp Freddy song from the upcoming soundtrack, head over to Loudwire, who have the exclusive. This version of the song includes Navarro and Billy Morrison on guitar with special guest guitarist Steve Stevens, Chris Chaney on bass, and Donovan Leitch Jr. on vocals.

The soundtrack will also feature tracks from Natalie Maines of the country trio the Dixie Chicks, Eddie Vedder of Pearl Jam, Bob Dylan, Marilyn Manson, Lucinda Williams, Johnny Depp and his band Tonto’s Giant Nuts, and a few selections from the film’s score composed by Nick Cave and Warren Ellis. Cave and Ellis’ previous film scoring work includes The Proposition, The Road, The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford, and most recently the violent gangsters and bootleggers movie Lawless. Depp and Henry Rollins will perform spoken word performances of letters written by Echols while on Death Row with the musical accompaniment of Cave and Ellis. Maines’ contribution is a cover of the Pink Floyd classic “Mother,” while Vedder is recording a song written for Lorri Davis, Damien Echols’ wife, as part of a collection of songs he recorded for the couple back in 2000.

Track Listing

1. Henry Rollins (featuring Nick Cave & Warren Ellis original score), “˜Damien Echols Death Row Letter Year 9″²
2. Natalie Maines, “˜Mother’
3. Lucinda Williams, “˜Joy’
4. Camp Freddy, “˜The Jean Genie’
5. Tonto’s Giant Nuts featuring Johnny Depp & Bruce Witkin, “˜Little Lion Man’
6. Marilyn Manson, “˜You’re So Vain’
7. Band of Horses, “˜Dumpster World’ (Live)
8. Citizen Cope, “˜DFW’
9. Eddie Vedder, “˜Satellite’
10. Bill Carter, “˜Anything Made of Paper’
11. The White Buffalo, “˜House of Pain’
12. Bob Dylan, “˜Ring Them Bells’
13. Nick Cave & Warren Ellis, “˜West of Memphis Score Suite’
14. Tonto’s Giant Nuts featuring Johnny Depp (featuring Nick Cave & Warren Ellis original score), “˜Damien Echols Death Row Letter Year 16″²

Camp Freddy – Jean Genie (Live)

[Source: Loudwire]

No Comments »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Leave a comment

Topics: Movies, Music, News
Previous Article
Next Article
You may have noticed that we're now AD FREE! Please support Geeks of Doom by using the Amazon Affiliate link above. All of our proceeds from the program go toward maintaining this site.
2023  ·   2022  ·   2021  ·   2020  ·   2019  ·   2018  ·   2017  ·   2016  ·   2015  ·   2014  ·  
2013  ·   2012  ·   2011  ·   2010  ·   2009  ·   2008  ·   2007  ·   2006  ·   2005
Geeks of Doom is proudly powered by WordPress.

Students of the Unusual™ comic cover used with permission of 3BoysProductions
The Mercuri Bros.™ comic cover used with permission of Prodigal Son Press

Geeks of Doom is designed and maintained by our geeky webmaster
All original content copyright ©2005-2023 Geeks of Doom
All external content copyright of its respective owner, except where noted

This website is licensed under
a Creative Commons License.
About | Privacy Policy | Contact