$5 MP3 Album Deal: The Cure ‘Greatest Hits’
  |  @   |  

As part of Amazon’s monthly $5 MP3 album deal for February 2013, The Cure‘s Greatest Hits is on sale for only $5. To me, it’s a steal at this price but if you would like a physical copy of The Cure’s Greatest Hits, the CD is available for only $9.99.

Arguably one of the greatest prog-rock bands that exploded in popularity in the early 1980s, The Cure has been an alterna-pop juggernaut for decades. Greatest Hits, originally released in 2001, is a celebration of their first 25 years of music and features not only two formerly unreleased tracks, but also contains 16 tracks that Robert Smith (lead vocalist) hand picked himself.

Featuring many of their more popular songs like “Close To Me” and “Friday I’m In Love” is to be expected, of course. But including tracks such as “The Walk” and “A Forest” makes me a very happy boy. This is an awesome album with which to introduce a friend to the band, but you really must ask yourself: if they aren’t aware of The Cure, why are you friends with them? I jest, of course. I’m sure somebody, somewhere isn’t even passingly familiar with the group…though I must say that renditions and covers of  “Lovesong” are played even in department stores to this day. The poppish “Why Can’t I Be You?” is possibly one of the most energetic songs of their career, but including a great such as “Boys Don’t Cry” makes this album magical.

I’m definitely more of a metal-head than most folks would realize, but the pseudo-gothic stylings of The Cure’s early albums definitely appeal to me. Pulling deeper from their more popular albums, this collection really showcases the range of which the band is capable. I’ve seen them live a few times and trust me, whether in person or in studio, this group is a treat. This compilation is a worthy addition to any iPod or (heaven help you) Zune playlist.

Browse all 100 albums on sale this month for only $5 each.

Track Listing

1. Boys Don’t Cry ( LP Version )
2. A Forest ( LP Version)
3. Let’s Go To Bed (Live Album Version)
4. The Walk ( LP Version )
5. The Lovecats (LP Version)
6. In Between Days ( LP Version )
7. Close To Me (LP Version)
8. Why Can’t I Be You (LP Version)
9. Just Like Heaven (LP Version)
10. Lullaby ( LP Version )
11. Lovesong ( LP Version )
12. Never Enough (LP Version)
13. High (LP Version)
14. Friday I’m In Love (LP Version)
15. Mint Car ( LP Version )
16. Wrong Number (Single Mix/ LP Version )
17. Cut Here (LP Version)
18. Just Say Yes (LP Version)

Note – when you purchase MP3s through Amazon, it stores your purchases to Amazon’s Cloud Drive; from there you can stream the music right from their online player. Also, if you have a Kindle Fire, your MP3 purchases will automatically be available for you to stream on your device. All your purchases are backed up and available for you to download at any time. You can download the files to your computer to load to an MP3 device and to your iTunes account if you have one. If you’d like to gift these MP3 purchases, you can – just click the “Give album or song as gift” button on the right on the product page. From there you enter the recipient’s email address and then select either specific songs to gift or the entire album.

No Comments »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Leave a comment

Topics: Deals, Music, News
Previous Article
Next Article
You may have noticed that we're now AD FREE! Please support Geeks of Doom by using the Amazon Affiliate link above. All of our proceeds from the program go toward maintaining this site.
2023  ·   2022  ·   2021  ·   2020  ·   2019  ·   2018  ·   2017  ·   2016  ·   2015  ·   2014  ·  
2013  ·   2012  ·   2011  ·   2010  ·   2009  ·   2008  ·   2007  ·   2006  ·   2005
Geeks of Doom is proudly powered by WordPress.

Students of the Unusual™ comic cover used with permission of 3BoysProductions
The Mercuri Bros.™ comic cover used with permission of Prodigal Son Press

Geeks of Doom is designed and maintained by our geeky webmaster
All original content copyright ©2005-2023 Geeks of Doom
All external content copyright of its respective owner, except where noted

This website is licensed under
a Creative Commons License.
About | Privacy Policy | Contact