$5 Album Deal: James Brown ’20 All-Time Greatest Hits’

20 All Time Greatest Hits, by the late “Godfather of Soul” James Brown, is now available on MP3 format from Amazon this month for only $5.00.

Although he has been dead for a few years now, the presence and soul of James Brown still permeates and penetrates in the public fabric. A master class showman, who had fever pitch passion for everything he did in his musical crafts, which included R&B and supernova hot funk which literally poured sweat and groove from the speakers, the level James Brown ran on kicked everyone’s ass, shook it as well on dance floors globally, and dazzled just about everyone else. The music, style, and attitude of what James Brown did to American music remains an absolute standard and zenith in many ways, his concoction of electrophonic tonic was a drink that went down smooth and bubbled over with moneymakers shakin’ all over town.

This greatest hits collection grabs 20 memorable slices of the Brown cachet and every one of them remains a sonic nugget: the sly horns and quiet thunder funk of “I Feel Good,” the out and out of the same thing with “Sex Machine,” “Mother Popcorn,” and “Make it Funky,” with the constant, consistent bassline driving smoothly across the musical terrain like a landspeeder, “Papa Don’t Take No Mess,” the revengeful and opus “The Big Payback,” and the aching and tender, yet still with the Brown panache and infectious bravado “It’s A Man’s Man’s Man’s World” and “Try Me,” this is essential American music which spans tastes all across the universe and beyond.

Browse over 100 albums on sale this month for only $5 each!

Track Listing

1. I Got You (I Feel Good)
2. Get Up I Feel Like Being A Sex Machine (Parts 1 & 2)
3. I Got The Feelin’
4. Mother Popcorn (Single Version)
5. Give It Up Or Turnit A Loose
6. Make It Funky (Part 1)
7. Papa’s Got A Brand New Bag (Part 1)
8. Think
9. It’s A Man’s, Man’s, Man’s World
10. Try Me
11. Night Train (Single Version)
12. Cold Sweat
13. Get On The Good Foot, Pt. 1
14. Papa Don’t Take No Mess (Part 1)
15. The Payback
16. Say It Loud – I’m Black And I’m Proud (Pt. 1)
17. Super Bad (Parts 1 & 2)
18. Hot Pants Pt. 1 (She Got To Use What She Got To Get What She Wants)
19. Get Up Offa That Thing
20. Please, Please, Please

Note – when you purchase MP3s through Amazon, it stores your purchases to Amazon’s Cloud Drive; from there you can stream the music right from their online player. Also, if you have a Kindle Fire, your MP3 purchases will automatically be available for you to stream on your device. All your purchases are backed up and available for you to download at any time. You can download the files to your computer to load to an MP3 device and to your iTunes account if you have one. If you’d like to gift these MP3 purchases, you can – just click the “Give album or song as gift” button on the right on the product page. From there you enter the recipient’s email address and then select either specific songs to gift or the entire album.

1 Comment »

  1. Great value if you do not already have this – but I do, so there you are. I still recommend it highly.

    Comment by Eric Fisher — August 17, 2013 @ 12:42 pm

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Leave a comment

Topics: Deals, Music, News
Previous Article
Next Article
You may have noticed that we're now AD FREE! Please support Geeks of Doom by using the Amazon Affiliate link above. All of our proceeds from the program go toward maintaining this site.
2023  ·   2022  ·   2021  ·   2020  ·   2019  ·   2018  ·   2017  ·   2016  ·   2015  ·   2014  ·  
2013  ·   2012  ·   2011  ·   2010  ·   2009  ·   2008  ·   2007  ·   2006  ·   2005
Geeks of Doom is proudly powered by WordPress.

Students of the Unusual™ comic cover used with permission of 3BoysProductions
The Mercuri Bros.™ comic cover used with permission of Prodigal Son Press

Geeks of Doom is designed and maintained by our geeky webmaster
All original content copyright ©2005-2023 Geeks of Doom
All external content copyright of its respective owner, except where noted

This website is licensed under
a Creative Commons License.
About | Privacy Policy | Contact