Alfonso Cuaron Wins Top Honors At The 2019 DGA Awards
  |  @   |  

The Director’s Guild of America honors the incredible achievements of directors. And this year, we had an extraordinary list of nominees in both film and television. Most of whom are already nominated for Oscars or Emmys.

This year, The DGA Awards recognized Bradley Cooper for A Star is Born, Peter Farrelly for Green Book, Spike Lee for BlacKkKlansman, and Adam McKay for Vice. But it was Alfonso Cuaron who took home the prize for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film for his work on Roma. Check out more winners below.


Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film

Bradley Cooper – A Star Is Born
Alfonso Cuarón – Roma
Peter Farrelly – Green Book
Spike Lee – BlacKkKlansman
Adam McKay – Vice

Outstanding Directorial Achievement of a First-Time Feature Film Director

Bo Burnham – Eighth Grade
Bradley Cooper – A Star Is Born
Carlos López Estrada – Blindspotting
Matthew Heineman – A Private War
Boots Riley – Sorry to Bother You

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Documentary

Morgan Neville – Won’t Your Be My Neighbor
Ramell Ross – Hale County This Morning, This Evening
Elizabeth Chai Vasarhely & Jimmy Chin – Free Solo
Tim Wardle – Three Identical Strangers
Betsy West & Julie Cohen – RBG


Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Dramatic Series

Jason Bateman – Ozark, “Reparations”
Leslie Linka Glatter – Homeland, “Paean to the People”
Chris Long – The Americans, “START”
Adam McKay – Succession, “Celebration”
Daina Reid – The Handmaid’s Tale, “Holly”

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Comedy Series

Donald Glover – Atlanta, “FUBU”
Bill Hader – Barry, “Chapter One: Make Your Mark”
Hiro Murai – Atlanta, “Teddy Perkins”
Daniel Palladino – The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, “We’re Going to the Catskills”
Amy Sherman-Palladino – The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, “All Alone”

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Movies for Television and Limited Series

Cary Joji Fukunaga – Maniac
David Leveaux & Alex Rudzinski – Jesus Christ Superstar Live in Concert
Barry Levinson – Paterno
Ben Stiller – Escape at Dannemora
Jean-Marc Val̩e РSharp Objects

You can find the full list of winners over at the official DGA website.

No Comments »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Leave a comment

Previous Article
Next Article
You may have noticed that we're now AD FREE! Please support Geeks of Doom by using the Amazon Affiliate link above. All of our proceeds from the program go toward maintaining this site.
2023  ·   2022  ·   2021  ·   2020  ·   2019  ·   2018  ·   2017  ·   2016  ·   2015  ·   2014  ·  
2013  ·   2012  ·   2011  ·   2010  ·   2009  ·   2008  ·   2007  ·   2006  ·   2005
Geeks of Doom is proudly powered by WordPress.

Students of the Unusual™ comic cover used with permission of 3BoysProductions
The Mercuri Bros.™ comic cover used with permission of Prodigal Son Press

Geeks of Doom is designed and maintained by our geeky webmaster
All original content copyright ©2005-2023 Geeks of Doom
All external content copyright of its respective owner, except where noted

This website is licensed under
a Creative Commons License.
About | Privacy Policy | Contact