head
COMICS   •   MOVIES   •   MUSIC   •   TELEVISION   •   GAMES   •   BOOKS
Comics You Should Be Reading: Batman Incorporated
  |  

There are a great deal of comic books that are released on a monthly basis, so many in fact that some of the best of the lot can fall through the cracks of hardcore comic book fans’ pull lists because, quite frankly, you can’t buy everything. So, it’s working with that understanding that I am providing you with a somewhat consistent installment of Comics You Should Be Reading. And when I think of a comic that everyone should reading right now, like this week, well there’s only one comic that counts: Batman Incorporated #1 by Grant Morrison and Chris Burnham.

Yeah, this is the comic that counts. It’s the return of Grant Morrison to one of his best runs with one of the best current artists in the business at his side, and of course I’m talking about Chris Burnham. I’m pretty much a diehard Grant Morrison fan and while I don’t love everything that I’ve read from him (I’m looking at you, Joe The Barbarian), I at least give his comics more than a fair chance. When he was announced as the lead writer for Action Comics, I was ecstatic. All Star Superman is easily one of my most favorite comics of all time, so Morrison writing Superman is something I get excited about, naturally.

...continue reading »
 
The GoD List: Comics For April 11, 2012
  |  

Each and every week “Madness” MK2Fac3 and “Henchamaniac” Henchman21 read a lot of comics. Seriously you guys, a lot of comics. Maybe too many comics. I mean, it is possible”¦ theoretically. They look forward to some more than others, I mean, who doesn’t? So, let’s take a look into the depths of their pull lists, grab some comics, and we’ll let YOU know what the top books to look forward to are for the week of April 11, 2012. Single issues and trades, they’re all here.

Henchamania’s runnin’ wild, brother! Everywhere I go, man, all the little Henchsters are askin’ me what The Hench is gonna pick this week! And I gotta look those little Henchsters right in the eye, dude, and I gotta tell them, man, that when The Hench picks his books, you’re gonna know about it, brother. So you gotta remember, Henchamaniacs! You gotta remember to say your prayers, and eat your vitamins, dude. And to all the doubters and non-believers, when The Hench raises the largest long box in the world and drops it down like an atom bomb to the ground, spraying comics from sea to shining sea, dude, you’ll know that The Hench has been reborn and he’s on a mission! Because it’s truth, justice and The Henchman way! So, what’cha gonna do, brother, when The GoD List and Henchamania run wild… on… you!?

...continue reading »
 
DC Relaunch: Six Comics Canceled and Replaced With ‘Second Wave’
  |  

DC Comics announced on Thursday that they would be setting up the second wave of “New 52” releases while also canceling six ongoing comics that were released in the initial run of the DC Relaunch.

Resting in peace are six comics that were quite good and enjoyable or had a lot of potential to be great, so they will definitely be missed. Those comic books are Blackhawks – a war comic focusing on a group of militaristic mercenaries in the vein of G.I. Joe; Hawk and Dove – the only DC book written by the extremely talented Sterling Gates with art from Rob Liefeld (more on him in another article); Men of War – a war book that was one of my favorite comics of the relaunch that took a realistic approach to the military in a world full of superheroes; Mister Terrific – one of the very few DC comics with a person of color as the leading role. Also, the main character was highly intelligent and, interestingly enough in a comic, atheist. O.M.A.C. – this to me is a tragedy considering that it was a fan favorite even in the light of poor sales. Sure it’s bizarre and nutso, but it was a complete blast to read. And finally Static Shock – one of, if not the only book that could be considered “youthful” and “fun,” and also one of the few books starring a person of color. All of these titles will see their last issues in April.

...continue reading »
 
The GoD List: Comics For December 21, 2011
  |  

Each and every week “The American Dragon” MK2Fac3 and “Long Island Iced C” Henchman21 read a lot of comics. Seriously you guys, a lot of comics. Maybe too many comics. I mean, it is possible”¦ theoretically. They look forward to some more than others, I mean, who doesn’t? So, let’s take a look into the depths of their pull lists, grab some comics, and we’ll let YOU know what the top books to look forward to are for the week of December 21, 2011. Single issues and trades, they’re all here.

It’s been a while since I’ve been this excited about comics, because we’ve got a lot of comics coming out this week that have the potential of being some of the finest of the year. We’ve got the return of Batman Incorporated with two of the best artists working in the business, we get the crazy brought to us by Neal Adams in his Batman Odyssey mini-series, as well as many other titles like Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Scott Snyder’s Batman, Mark Waid’s Daredevil, Brian Azzarello and Cliff Chiang’s Wonder Woman, Jason Aaron’s Puninshermax, and many other excellent comics. In fact, some of the finest DC Relaunch titles are coming out this week. But there’s no way we could fit all of this awesome into one small list, so what we’ve done is condensed it, much like milk, and unloaded what we consider to be the comics that will blow us out of the water the hardest. Whether they be the most “important” comics, or if they’re just created by our favorites, one thing can be for certain, they’re what we’re looking forward to the most. For we are The HenchFac3, and this is The GoD List.

...continue reading »
 
Holiday Geek Gift Guide 2011: Batman Edition
  |  

Put on your capes and cowls, everybody! There’s pine needles on the living room floor, snow on the ground, and a scent of cinnamon in the air. Your dogs and cats are tearing apart wrapping paper, your family’s in town and you can’t stop drinking sparkling cider for some reason. That could only mean one thing, folks, it’s the nondescript religious holiday season! And that means that it’s time to go into credit card debt so that you can show those closest to you that you care, you know? And to make it a little bit easier on you guys, we here at Geeks of Doom have been shoveling our driveways so that we can deliver to you this, The Holiday Geek Gift Guide – Batman Edition! The best bat-gifts possible for the geeks on you gift-giving list!

As you can see, I’ve changed up the intro a smidge, and that’s simply because today we celebrate the holiday in the best way possible, with The Batman. Yes, The Batman. And while it may not make much sense to you that we’re doing this, you fail to realize that Batman makes everything better. In fact, the presence of Batman-centric holiday gift guide on this site makes not only this site better, but also it makes the world better. And isn’t that truly what the holidays are about? Making things better or something like that? Sure, why not! Anyway, it’s been a pretty big year for The Dark Knight, and that will certainly be evidenced by the majority of this list. We’ll also be making it a little easier on you by narrowing this list down by separate topics such as comics (and comic-inspired items), statues, Batman: Year One, and Arkham City. Sure there will be some overlap, but that’s all right because we’re talking about Batman! So let’s start of with the merriest of merries, comic books!

...continue reading »
Next Articles »
2021  ·   2020  ·   2019  ·   2018  ·   2017  ·   2016  ·   2015  ·   2014  ·   2013  ·   2012  ·   2011  ·   2010  ·   2009  ·   2008  ·   2007  ·   2006  ·   2005
Geeks of Doom is proudly powered by WordPress.

Students of the Unusual™ comic cover used with permission of 3BoysProductions
The Mercuri Bros.™ comic cover used with permission of Prodigal Son Press

Geeks of Doom is designed and maintained by our geeky webmaster
All original content copyright ©2005-2021 Geeks of Doom
All external content copyright of its respective owner, except where noted

This website is licensed under
a Creative Commons License.
About | Privacy Policy | Contact