Listen Now: Sleep Release First New Track In 18 Years
  |  @   |  

Stoner/doom metal monoliths Sleep have just premiered their first new track in 18 years. Titled “The Clarity”, the new track is to be released this coming Monday, July 21st as part of the Adult Swim Singles Series. You can hear it here, below.

The nearly 10-minute song finds Sleep pretty much where they left off in 1996 with their opus, the one hour and three-minute-long single song album Dopesmoker. The recording of that legendary piece left the band at war with their label London Records and only saw the light of day in unauthorized bootlegs until it was finally released via Tee Pee Records in 2003, 7 years after it was recorded. The turmoil lead the band to split, with guitarist Matt Pike forming and fronting the ultra heavy High On Fire, while vocalist/bassist Al Cisneros and drummer Chris Hakius became the experimental rock band Om.

...continue reading »
2021  ·   2020  ·   2019  ·   2018  ·   2017  ·   2016  ·   2015  ·   2014  ·   2013  ·   2012  ·   2011  ·   2010  ·   2009  ·   2008  ·   2007  ·   2006  ·   2005
Geeks of Doom is proudly powered by WordPress.

Students of the Unusual™ comic cover used with permission of 3BoysProductions
The Mercuri Bros.™ comic cover used with permission of Prodigal Son Press

Geeks of Doom is designed and maintained by our geeky webmaster
All original content copyright ©2005-2021 Geeks of Doom
All external content copyright of its respective owner, except where noted

This website is licensed under
a Creative Commons License.
About | Privacy Policy | Contact