Black Metal Friday: Black Breath “Slaves Beyond Death”
  |  @   |  

Seattle’s greatest blackened, crossover thrash export Black Breath is set to unleash their third full-length album on September 25th via Southern Lord Records. The album is called Slaves Beyond Death and their label Southern Lord has just released the title track via their Soundcloud page.

Check out the title track of Slaves Beyond Death here below.

...continue reading »
Massive Metal Monday: All Pigs Must Die “Sadistic Vindicator”
  |  @   |  

All Pigs Must Die is a hardcore metal supergroup consisting of Kevin Baker of the Hope Conspiracy, Ben Koller of Converge, and Adam Wentworth and Matt Woods of Bloodhorse. They play an amalgam of blackened metallic hardcore and crust punk that takes no prisoners. Imagine late period Darkthrone meets Converge and you have a vague idea of the brutality afoot here.

The band is currently signed to the metal super-label Southern Lord Records and have, to date, issued 2 EPs and 2 full-length albums. Today’s Massive Metal Monday selection is from their excellent 2011 full-length debut God Is War, which was produced by Koller’s Converge bandmate Kurt Ballou. This is the album’s closing track “Sadistic Vindicator.”

...continue reading »
Black Metal Friday: Black Breath “Black Sin (Spit On The Cross)”
  |  @   |  

Washington state band Black Breath is many things to many different people. They incorporate elements from across the metal spectrum ranging from thrash to hardcore to doom and several points in between. But the one common thread running through all of their work is the strong anti-Christian aesthetic of black metal. There may be no better example of the convergence of all of these elements than the track “Black Sin (Spit On The Cross)” from their second full length album, 2012’s Sentenced To Life. Check it out here below.

After waiting for drummer Jamie Bynum to recover from multiple fractures to his leg from being hit by a car in early 2014, Black Breath are currently hard at work on their third album. It is due later this year via powerhouse metal label Southern Lord. Keep an eye out here for details on the album as they emerge.

...continue reading »
Xibalba Release “Invierno” First Track From New Album
  |  @   |  

The Pomona, California death metal/hardcore unit Xibalba has just premiered the first track from their new, upcoming record Tierra Y Libertad via Noisey. The track is a punishing mid-tempo grind that is sure to send you neighbors in search of a realtor. “Invierno” is track number three from Tierra Y Libertad, and is just a small glimpse of Xibalba’s most hate-filled assault to date. The album was recorded by Taylor Young (Nails, Twitching Tongues, Disgrace) at The Pit in Van Nuy, and features the cover art of Dan Seagrave (Dismember, Entombed, Suffocation). Give a listen to the song here below.

While Tierra Y Libertad is not up for pre-order at the moment, keep a watch out on their Amazon page because the album will be released on CD, LP, and digital outlets on January 26th in Europe and January 27th in North America via the mighty Southern Lord Records. For now, check out their previous release, Hasta La Muerte.

...continue reading »
Black Metal Friday: “Wanderer Above The Sea Of Fog” by Wolves In The Throne Room
  |  @   |  

Brothers Nathan and Aaron Weaver formed Wolves In The Throne Room in 2003 in Olympia, Washington. The band has always eschewed the traditional aesthetics of the black metal genre. Preferring a DIY approach, they generally tour with their own PA and try to avoid traditional concert venues. Torchlight is usually the only illumination and flash photography is never permitted. Going even a step further, the brothers frown upon moshing, stating that they want their show to be more of a meditative experience. Their music has been described as “eco-metal” and “astral black metal.”

“Wanderer Above The Sea Of Fog” is the opening track of Wolves In The Throne Room’s third album Black Cascade. Check it out here, below.

...continue reading »
2023  ·   2022  ·   2021  ·   2020  ·   2019  ·   2018  ·   2017  ·   2016  ·   2015  ·   2014  ·  
2013  ·   2012  ·   2011  ·   2010  ·   2009  ·   2008  ·   2007  ·   2006  ·   2005
Geeks of Doom is proudly powered by WordPress.

Students of the Unusual™ comic cover used with permission of 3BoysProductions
The Mercuri Bros.™ comic cover used with permission of Prodigal Son Press

Geeks of Doom is designed and maintained by our geeky webmaster
All original content copyright ©2005-2023 Geeks of Doom
All external content copyright of its respective owner, except where noted

This website is licensed under
a Creative Commons License.
About | Privacy Policy | Contact