FREE Listen: All-Star ‘West Of Memphis: Voices for Justice’ Soundtrack
  |  @   |  

West of Memphis: Voices for Justice, a soundtrack album for the film West of Memphis was released today on CD and MP3 and features an all-star line-up of musicians and longtime supporters of the West Memphis Three. West of Memphis, which was given a limited theatrical release last month, is the Peter Jackson-produced documentary about the arrest and 1994 murder conviction of then-teenagers Jessie Misskelley, Damien Echols, and Jason Baldwin – known as the “West Memphis Three” – and how forensic evidence led to their release from prison after more than 18 years.

A few days ago, we posted about the first single off the album, a cover of the David Bowie classic “The Jean Genie” performed by Camp Freddy, a cover band featuring guitarist Dave Navarro (Jane’s Addiction, Red Hot Chili Peppers) and drummer Matt Sorum (Guns N’ Roses). Now, 14 tracks off the album, which features acts like Eddie Vedder, Marilyn Manson, Bob Dylan, and Patti Smith, as well as Johnny Depp (see Track #5 by Tonto’s Giant Nuts featuring Depp), is streaming online for FREE.

The songs by Patti Smith, Marilyn Manson, and Camp Freddy are standouts, as is “Little Lion Man” by Johnny Depp with Tonto’s Giant Nuts. There’s also a few tracks of Nick Cave & Warren Ellis’ original score that are disturbingly haunting, with Henry Rollins (track #1) and Johnny Depp (track # 14) reading the letters Damien Echols wrote while on Death Row.

Below is the track listing for West Of Memphis: Voices for Justice. Be sure to head over to AOL Music to hear the entire album; just click on the “play” buttons and listen (no strings attached!). But, it’s only for this week, so get your listen in now while you can, and if you dig it, support it by purchasing the album.

Track Listing

1. Henry Rollins (featuring Nick Cave & Warren Ellis original score), “˜Damien Echols Death Row Letter Year 9″²
2. Natalie Maines, “˜Mother’
3. Lucinda Williams, “˜Joy’
4. Camp Freddy, “˜The Jean Genie’
5. Tonto’s Giant Nuts featuring Johnny Depp & Bruce Witkin, “˜Little Lion Man’
6. Marilyn Manson, “˜You’re So Vain’
7. Band of Horses, “˜Dumpster World’ (Live)
8. Citizen Cope, “˜DFW’
9. Eddie Vedder, “˜Satellite’
10. Bill Carter, “˜Anything Made of Paper’
11. The White Buffalo, “˜House of Pain’
12. Bob Dylan, “˜Ring Them Bells’
13. Nick Cave & Warren Ellis, “˜West of Memphis Score Suite’
14. Tonto’s Giant Nuts featuring Johnny Depp (featuring Nick Cave & Warren Ellis original score), “˜Damien Echols Death Row Letter Year 16″²
15. Road To Nowhere Bill Carter (Digital Bonus Track)
16. Patti Smith – Wing (Recorded Live at Voices For Justice Benefit Concert – August 28, 2010) (Digital Bonus Track)

Amazon.com Widgets

1 Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Leave a comment

Topics: Movies, Music, News
Previous Article
Next Article
You may have noticed that we're now AD FREE! Please support Geeks of Doom by using the Amazon Affiliate link above. All of our proceeds from the program go toward maintaining this site.
2023  ·   2022  ·   2021  ·   2020  ·   2019  ·   2018  ·   2017  ·   2016  ·   2015  ·   2014  ·  
2013  ·   2012  ·   2011  ·   2010  ·   2009  ·   2008  ·   2007  ·   2006  ·   2005
Geeks of Doom is proudly powered by WordPress.

Students of the Unusual™ comic cover used with permission of 3BoysProductions
The Mercuri Bros.™ comic cover used with permission of Prodigal Son Press

Geeks of Doom is designed and maintained by our geeky webmaster
All original content copyright ©2005-2023 Geeks of Doom
All external content copyright of its respective owner, except where noted

This website is licensed under
a Creative Commons License.
About | Privacy Policy | Contact