‘The Hateful Eight’: Ennio Morricone Receives 6th Oscar Nomination For Original Score

The nominations for the 88th Academy Awards were announced this morning, and Quentin Tarantino‘s brutal, slow-burn western epic The Hateful Eight scored nods in three categories: Jennifer Jason Leigh in the Best Supporting Actress category for her performance as the feral, fearsome criminal Daisy Domergue, with Robert Richardson‘s sumptuous widescreen cinematography also received well-deserved recognition.

The film’s third and final Oscar nomination was for the music score composed by the legendary Ennio Morricone – the first original soundtrack for a Tarantino film. This marks the sixth time Morricone has been nominated, but he has yet to win. Morricone did receive an honorary award from the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences in 2007. The award was presented to him by Clint Eastwood, who shot to international movie stardom with Il Maestro’s musical backing.

I’ve embedded Morricone’s Oscar speech, in Italian with Eastwood translating into English best as possible, and you can check it out here below.

...continue reading »
86th Academy Awards: Who Will Win An Oscar? Here’s Our Picks and Predictions
  |  @   |  

We’re only hours away from the live broadcast of the 86th Annual Academy Awards! As we do every year, we’ll be live blogging the entire event starting from the pre-show red carpet arrivals starting at 7pm EST through the final Oscar acceptance for Best Picture.

Before the show begins, we figured we’d just put a quick two cents with our predictions of who we think will win and also who we hope will win. Check it out here below and remember to turn into ABC for the broadcast and come back href=”https://www.geeksofdoom.com/2014/03/02/academy-awards-live-blog” target=”_blank”>HERE to us for the live blog, with red carpet arrivals beginning at 7pm EST and the awards ceremony starting at 8:30pm EST.

...continue reading »
86th Academy Awards Live Blog and Streaming Updates

Tonight is the 86th Annual Academy Awards! As we do every year, starting at 7pm EST we’ll be live blogging the entire event from the pre-show red carpet extravaganza through the final Oscar acceptance speech and orchestral “wrap it up” movement.

This year’s Oscar nominees have some heavy hitters vying for the top awards, including 12 Years a Slave, American Hustle, Gravity, and The Wolf of Wall Street all up for multiple awards. Actors including Christian Bale, Leonardo DiCaprio, Chiwetal Eijofor, Cate Blanchett, Sandra Bullock, and Meryl Streep are up for top awards and it’ll be interesting to see who gets the statue!

...continue reading »
Join Us For Our 2013 Academy Award Liveblog
  |  @   |  

...continue reading »
Academy & Gallery 1988 Team Up To Create Posters For Best Picture Nominees
  |  @   |  

The Academy Of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has partnered up with the people of Gallery 1988 and fellow artists to commission creating posters for the 2013 Best Picture Nominees. Oscar.com revealed the poster specs, which could mean that these posters could go on sale. And if you are a cinephile, a fan of any of these movies, or love to collect posters created by independent artists, then you should be hoping that these go on sale, because these posters look great.

Check out the posters of all nine of the nominees below and don’t forget to tell us which ones you would like to have hang on your walls.

Below is all the info you need to know about the posters, plus a small profile on the artist behind them. Be sure to check out Oscar.com and Gallery1988.com on occasions to see if these posters do go up on sale.

...continue reading »
« Previous Articles
2023  ·   2022  ·   2021  ·   2020  ·   2019  ·   2018  ·   2017  ·   2016  ·   2015  ·   2014  ·  
2013  ·   2012  ·   2011  ·   2010  ·   2009  ·   2008  ·   2007  ·   2006  ·   2005
Geeks of Doom is proudly powered by WordPress.

Students of the Unusual™ comic cover used with permission of 3BoysProductions
The Mercuri Bros.™ comic cover used with permission of Prodigal Son Press

Geeks of Doom is designed and maintained by our geeky webmaster
All original content copyright ©2005-2023 Geeks of Doom
All external content copyright of its respective owner, except where noted

This website is licensed under
a Creative Commons License.
About | Privacy Policy | Contact