space
space
head
head head head
Home Contact RSS Feed
COMICS   •   MOVIES   •   MUSIC   •   TELEVISION   •   GAMES   •   BOOKS
‘Star Wars’ Fans Behold: ‘Deathtroopers’
space
The Movie God   |  @   |  
space

DeathtroopersIf this isn’t the coolest thing I’ve heard in a while, I don’t know what is.

Word has come around that author Joe Schreiber has written a little book called Deathtroopers. This book is from LucasFilm and Del Rey Books and takes place in the wonderful world of Star Wars… the only difference here is, this book is a horror story.

On his blog, Mr. Schreiber said that the book is in its final editing stages and that it will be out sometime in November of 2009, though on StarWars.com, there is an October 27, 2009 date set, so that may be the one to look for. They also call this the FIRST horror book, which means with success comes more horror!

StarWars.com is also the source of the image above. If you haven’t clicked it yet, do so immediately to see the full-size book cover. It’s completely insane and will make you want to read the book even more than you already want to.

Also on his blog Schreiber had this to say about the project and the book:

I had the time of my life on this one, I have to say. I’m doing the final edits now, and I’ve tried to make it into exactly the kind of book you’d want to read if you were a child of the 70s who grew up with the original Star Wars trilogy and really digs horror in the vein of The Shining and Alien, with a little dose of William Gibson mixed in.

Well, sir… while I may not be a child of the 70s, I must say, why has it taken this long for such a brilliant idea to come around!?

The story will take place before the events of Star Wars: A New Hope — so the questions are a plenty. Who’s involved? How gruesome does it get? Will I weep?

What’s also very curious is, if this is real-deal Star Wars from LucasFilm and it does well — how long is it before we see a new kind of movie or TV show? It wasn’t too long ago that rumors were swirling about a dark, adult-themed Star Wars show on HBO or another channel like that, so is this going to be similar but in book form? While those “other” Star Wars movies weren’t so well-received, Episode III was the best of them and the dark tone it took on worked really well if you ask me, so I’m interested to see what they do here.

This is definitely something to be giddy for, I feel.

[Source: via /Film]

space
Topics: Books, Movies, News
space
Previous Article
space
Next Article
«
»
space
space
space
Geeks of Doom on Instagram Follow Geeks of Doom on Tumblr space
Geeks of Doom on YouTube Geeks of Doom on Pinterest
Geeks of Doom Email Digest Geeks of Doom RSS Feed space
space
Amazon.com
space
space
space
space
space
space
The Drill Down Podcast TARDISblend Podcast Westworld Podcast
space
2520 Clothing Company
space
2019  ·   2018  ·   2017  ·   2016  ·   2015  ·   2014  ·   2013  ·   2012  ·   2011  ·   2010  ·   2009  ·   2008  ·   2007  ·   2006  ·   2005
space
Geeks of Doom is proudly powered by WordPress.

Students of the Unusual™ comic cover used with permission of 3BoysProductions
The Mercuri Bros.™ comic cover used with permission of Prodigal Son Press

Geeks of Doom is designed and maintained by our geeky webmaster
All original content copyright ©2005-2018 Geeks of Doom
All external content copyright of its respective owner, except where noted
space
Creative Commons License
This website is licensed under
a Creative Commons License.
space
About | Privacy Policy | Contact
space