head head head
Home Contact RSS Feed
Classic Ozzy Osbourne Albums To Be Reissued With Bonus Material
cGt2099   |  

Blizzard of Ozz and Diary of a Madman

The classic Ozzy Osbourne albums, Blizzard of Ozz and Diary Of A Madman, are scheduled to be reissued in May 2011. The two albums are cited by metalheads around the world as classics, and were indeed an important chapter in the evolution of metal during the 1980’s. They are the first two recordings by Ozzy following his years in Black Sabbath, and were key releases in him reasserting his position as the “Prince of Fucking Darkness!”

Lots of good new stuff has been included with these reissues, scheduled for release on May 31, 2011, and fans will have some different versions to choose from.

First up is the 30th Anniversary Edition of Blizzard of Ozz, including the entire original album recording that has been remastered by George Marino for the release. This CD will also have bonus tracks added, including a rare guitar solo from Randy Rhoads.

Second is the Diary of a Madman: Legacy Edition. This release will be a special 2-disc/double-album. The first disc will be entire original recording of the album, also remastered by Marino. The second disc is a live album, simply titled Ozzy Live, and is a recording from the Blizzard of Ozz tour. Third on the list is a single-disc version of Diary of a Madman.

Finally, there will be a new box set celebrating the reissues titled the Diary of a Madman/Blizzard of Ozz 30th Anniversary Deluxe Box Set. The collection will include the 30th Anniversary Edition of Blizzard of Ozz, the double disc Diary of a Madman: Legacy Edition, as well as a 100-page coffee table book, a replica of Ozzy’s gold cross (wow!), and a new DVD called Thirty Years After The Blizzard. The DVD includes a lot of previously unreleased footage from Ozzy’s years touring and recording with Randy Rhoads; plus interviews with numerous artists including Steve Vai, Bill Ward, Rob Halford, and more.

Here’s the entire track listing information, courtesy of Blabbermouth:

“Blizzard Of Ozz” (30th Anniversary Expanded Edition)

01. I Don’t Know (5:13)
02. Crazy Train (4:51)
03. Goodbye To Romance (5:33)
04. Dee (0:49)
05. Suicide Solution (4:17)
06. Mr. Crowley (5:02)
07. No Bone Movies (3:52)
08. Revelation (Mother Earth) (6:08)
09. Steal Away (The Night) (3:28)

Bonus tracks

10. You Looking At Me, Looking At You (Non-LP B-Side, Previously Unreleased in the U.S.) (4:15)
11. Goodbye To Romance (2010 Guitar & Vocal Mix, Previously Unreleased) (5:42)
12. RR (Previously Unreleased – Randy Rhoads guitar solo) (1:13)

“Diary Of A Madman” (Legacy Edition)

Disc 1:

01. Over The Mountain (4:31)
02. Flying High Again (4:44)
03. You Can’t Kill Rock And Roll (6:59)
04. Believer (5:15)
05. Little Dolls (5:39)
06. Tonight (5:50)
07. S.A.T.O. (4:07)
08. Diary Of A Madman (6:14)

Disc 2:

Ozzy Live (recorded on the “Blizzard of Ozz” tour)

01. I Don’t Know
02. Crazy Train
03. Believer
04. Mr. Crowley
05. Flying High Again
06. Revelation (Mother Earth)
07. Steal Away (The Night)
08. Suicide Solution
09. Iron Man
10. Children Of The Grave
11. Paranoid

“Diary of a Madman”/”Blizzard of Ozz” 30th Anniversary Deluxe Box Set

Box Set Includes:

* “Blizzard Of Ozz” (30th Anniversary Expanded Edition)
* “Diary Of A Madman” (Legacy Edition)
* “Blizzard Of Ozz” (180-gram LP “” original album only)
* “Diary Of A Madman” (180-gram LP “” original album only)

DVD “” contains “Thirty Years After The Blizzard” documentary “” and additional rare and unreleased performances and interviews.

Ozzy Osbourne is cemented in the history of metal as one of the most influential and key players in the evolution of hard rock and heavy metal. From his beginnings in Black Sabbath, belting out tunes such as “Paranoid,” “Sweet Leaf,” and “War Pigs,” Osbourne moved on with a solo career, consolidating his metal legacy with songs such as “Crazy Train,” “No More Tears,” and “Gets Me Through.”

While news of the release seems to be welcomed by a number of fans, the big question on everyone’s lips was, “Will these be the original recordings with Bob Daisley and Lee Kerslake?” Several years ago, a reissue of the albums with rerecorded tracks by Rob Trujillo (bassist currently in Metallica) and Mark Bordin (drummer of Faith No More) was released. Many considered this move sacrilegious.

Apparently, the releases will include either the Daisley/Kerslake tracks. Ozzy has made recent statements regarding the controversy, emphasizing he wants the original recordings back. The press notes for these upcoming releases do state they are “original album in its entirety,” but the notes also state they’re “restored” — stored to the original recordings or something else?

Undoubtedly, the release is a big one for 2011 for Ozzy, and a nice way to celebrate the 30th anniversary of the albums.


No Comments »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Leave a comment

Topics: Music, News
Previous Article
Next Article
You may have noticed that we're now AD FREE! Please support Geeks of Doom by using the Amazon Affiliate link above. All of our proceeds from the program go toward maintaining this site.
Geeks of Doom on Twitter Geeks of Doom on Facebook Geeks of Doom on Instagram Follow Geeks of Doom on Tumblr Geeks of Doom on YouTube Geeks of Doom Email Digest Geeks of Doom RSS Feed
The Drill Down Podcast TARDISblend Podcast Westworld Podcast
2023  ·   2022  ·   2021  ·   2020  ·   2019  ·   2018  ·   2017  ·   2016  ·   2015  ·   2014  ·  
2013  ·   2012  ·   2011  ·   2010  ·   2009  ·   2008  ·   2007  ·   2006  ·   2005
Geeks of Doom is proudly powered by WordPress.

Students of the Unusual™ comic cover used with permission of 3BoysProductions
The Mercuri Bros.™ comic cover used with permission of Prodigal Son Press

Geeks of Doom is designed and maintained by our geeky webmaster
All original content copyright ©2005-2023 Geeks of Doom
All external content copyright of its respective owner, except where noted
Creative Commons License
This website is licensed under
a Creative Commons License.
About | Privacy Policy | Contact