head head head
Home Contact RSS Feed
U.S. Premiere Of Massacre’s ‘Back From Beyond’ Video (Exclusive)
Empress Eve   |  @   |  

Massacre Back From Beyond album cover

If you’re a death metal fan, then chances are you know Florida’s Massacre and their 1991 debut album From Beyond. Although the band itself has been mostly absent from the scene since the mid-1990s with its members involved in other projects, Massacre is poised to make a triumphant return with their new album, Back from Beyond, which will be released in the United States by Century Media on April 1, 2014.

Our metal brethren over at Century Media, knowing that we here at Geeks of Doom are true metal people, have asked us to exclusively premiere the video for the title track in advance of the album’s release. Check out the video here below of Massacre’s “Back From Beyond”!

Sound production is great on the new tune, and the video features a story by Nick Johnson with characters and animation by Johnson and Ryder McLean.

Massacre band lineup 2014

[Massacre band lineup 2014. Photo by Tim Vasquez/CGM Studios, courtesy of Century Media.]

While Massacre actually formed in 1984, three-quarters of its members — Terry Butler, Rick Rozz, and Bill Andrews — joined fellow Florida death metal legend Chuck Schuldiner in Death for 1988’s Leprosy. Butler and Andrews stayed on in Death for 1990’s Spiritual Healing, but then the trio along with singer Kam Lee regrouped to concentrate on Massacre, releasing From Beyond in 1991, the EP Inhuman Condition in 1992, and Promise in 1996 before disbanding once more. Butler went on to join Obituary and Six Feet Under, but in 2012, original members Butler (bass) and Rozz (guitar) took up the Massacre mantle once more for the “70,000 Tons of Metal” cruise and were then signed by Century Media. Joining Massacre for their first album in nearly 20 years are vocalist Ed Webb (ex-Diabolic/Eulogy) and drummer Mike Mazzonetto (ex-Pain Principle).

Back From Beyond will be released on CD and vinyl in the U.S. on April 1, 2014 and as a digital download on April 8, 2014. (The Europe/UK release is March 24, 2014).

Track Listing

MASSACRE – “˜Back From Beyond’ (45:33)

1. The Ancient Ones (1:04)
2. As We Wait To Die (3:30)
3. Ascension Of The Deceased (3:19)
4. Hunter’s Blood (3:21)
5. Darkness Fell (2:59)
6. False Revelation (3:55)
7. Succumb To Rapture (3:33)
8. Remnants Of Hatred (2:29)
9. Shield Of The Son (3:51)
10. The Evil Within (3:34)
11. Sands Of Time (2:42)
12. Beast With Vengeance (3:16)
13. Back From Beyond (4:39)
14. Honor The Fallen (3:16)

The limited Edition Digipak CD also comes with alternate artwork, a sticker, and two Death cover songs — “Corpsegrinder” and “Mutilation” — as bonus tracks.

Current Line-up

Terry Butler – bass
Rick Rozz – guitar
Mike Mazzonetto – drums
Ed Webb – vocals


MASSACRE online:

Video: “Back From Beyond”

Bang your head with me on Twitter. \m/


  1. NO Kam Lee NO Massacre!!!

    Comment by HecThe Wreck — March 13, 2014 @ 9:46 am

  2. The massacre is always my one of the legendary band, Back From Beyond is G.O.A.T.

    Comment by Alex Mercer — November 11, 2021 @ 1:56 am

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Leave a comment

Topics: Music, News, Videos
Previous Article
Next Article
You may have noticed that we're now AD FREE! Please support Geeks of Doom by using the Amazon Affiliate link above. All of our proceeds from the program go toward maintaining this site.
Geeks of Doom on Twitter Geeks of Doom on Facebook Geeks of Doom on Instagram Follow Geeks of Doom on Tumblr Geeks of Doom on YouTube Geeks of Doom Email Digest Geeks of Doom RSS Feed
The Drill Down Podcast TARDISblend Podcast Westworld Podcast
2023  ·   2022  ·   2021  ·   2020  ·   2019  ·   2018  ·   2017  ·   2016  ·   2015  ·   2014  ·  
2013  ·   2012  ·   2011  ·   2010  ·   2009  ·   2008  ·   2007  ·   2006  ·   2005
Geeks of Doom is proudly powered by WordPress.

Students of the Unusual™ comic cover used with permission of 3BoysProductions
The Mercuri Bros.™ comic cover used with permission of Prodigal Son Press

Geeks of Doom is designed and maintained by our geeky webmaster
All original content copyright ©2005-2023 Geeks of Doom
All external content copyright of its respective owner, except where noted
Creative Commons License
This website is licensed under
a Creative Commons License.
About | Privacy Policy | Contact