head head head
Home Contact RSS Feed
Listen To Death’s ‘Leprosy’ Reissue Streaming Now!
Empress Eve   |  @   |  

Death Leprosy album

Right now, the upcoming reissue of Death‘s album Leprosy is streaming online for free.

Listen to the entire album here below! You can also listen to one of the live tracks that will be available only on the Digital Deluxe version, and watch a video of the unboxing of the deluxe set.

The Leprosy reissue from Relapse Records will be released in the United States on April 29, 2014 on Deluxe 2-CD set, Vinyl, as well as digital MP3. You can pre-order it now.

Deluxe 2-CD edition contains 50 minutes of previously unheard and unreleased Leprosy demos and rehearsal material housed in an embossed o-card package with a 24-page booklet featuring unseen pictures of the band as well as brand new liner notes from Ian Christe (Sirius/XM) and Jeremy Wagner (Broken Hope).

There will also be a Deluxe 3-CD set available exclusively through Relapse Records. It will contain everything from the 2-CD version, plus an exclusive third CD featuring over 40 minutes of unreleased live material, housed in a deluxe embossed eight-panel digipak with a 24-page booklet, limited and numbered to 2000 copies. You can visit Death’s Relapse page for more merchandise, including t-shirts, hoodies, and vinyl editions of the Leprosy reissue.

The 1988 album, was the second release from Florida death metal legends Death, which featured Chuck Schuldiner on guitars and vocals, and was a stand-out record for the group and was a game-changer for the death metal scene. Death was born from the ashes of Massacre, with that band’s guitarist Rick Rozz, bassist Terry Butler, and drummer Bill Andrews joining up with Schuldiner. While Death’s debut album, 1987’s Scream Bloody Gore was popular with audiences, it was Leprosy that really got everyone’s attention with unbelievably catchy songs like “Pull The Plug,” “Open Casket,” and the title track. Yes, I said “catchy” – that’s what got them so much recognition. The songs were heavy with cool hooks and Schuldiner had the classic death metal grunting vocals, but they were understandable, which set the band apart from their contemporaries and those who followed them. Death went on to release more albums and had a solid fan base, but disbanded in 2001 after Schuldiner passed away after a battle with brain cancer.

I remember when Death broke onto the metal scene and I got to see them play live several times and they seemed poised for greatness. Metal fans loved Leprosy and a Death concert was definitely a good one to attend. (Look, here’s a photo of me as a teenager back in the stone age wearing a Death shirt, which was one of my favorites). I love the album Leprosy — I think it’s by far their best — and I’m real excited to get my hands on this reissue. I’m enjoying listening to the streaming of the album with the rehearsals on it. If you’re not familiar with Death, but like heavy music, I suggest picking up the Leprosy reissue when it’s released this week.

Track Listing

Disc 1

01. Leprosy
02. Born Dead
03. Forgotten Past
04. Left To Die
05. Pull The Plug
06. Open Casket
07. Primitive Ways
08. Choke On It

Disc 2

Leprosy – 9/23/87 Rehearsal

01. Open Casket
02. Choke On It
03. Left To Die
04. Left To Die – Take 2

Leprosy – 12/05/87 Rehearsals

05. Left To Die
06. Open Casket
07. Pull The Plug
08. Choke On It
09. Born Dead
10. Forgotten Past

Disc 3

Live at Backstreets, Rochester, NY – December 13th, 1988

01. Leprosy
02. Open Casket
03. Zombie Ritual
04. Pull The Plug
05. Left To Die
06. Mutilation
07. Forgotten Past
08. Born Dead
09. Denial Of Life
10. Primitive Ways
11. Infernal Death

Live at The Dirt Club, Bloomfield, NJ – December 11, 1988

12. Leprosy
13. Pull The Plug
14. Forgotten Past
15. Primitive Ways

Digital Deluxe ONLY Bonus Tracks – Live at The Dirt Club, Bloomfield, NJ – December 11, 1988

16. Open Casket
17. Mutilation
18. Infernal Death

[Source via Blabbermouth]



Bang your head with me on Twitter. \m/

No Comments »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Leave a comment

Topics: Music, News
Previous Article
Next Article
You may have noticed that we're now AD FREE! Please support Geeks of Doom by using the Amazon Affiliate link above. All of our proceeds from the program go toward maintaining this site.
Geeks of Doom on Twitter Geeks of Doom on Facebook Geeks of Doom on Instagram Follow Geeks of Doom on Tumblr Geeks of Doom on YouTube Geeks of Doom Email Digest Geeks of Doom RSS Feed
The Drill Down Podcast TARDISblend Podcast Westworld Podcast
2023  ·   2022  ·   2021  ·   2020  ·   2019  ·   2018  ·   2017  ·   2016  ·   2015  ·   2014  ·  
2013  ·   2012  ·   2011  ·   2010  ·   2009  ·   2008  ·   2007  ·   2006  ·   2005
Geeks of Doom is proudly powered by WordPress.

Students of the Unusual™ comic cover used with permission of 3BoysProductions
The Mercuri Bros.™ comic cover used with permission of Prodigal Son Press

Geeks of Doom is designed and maintained by our geeky webmaster
All original content copyright ©2005-2023 Geeks of Doom
All external content copyright of its respective owner, except where noted
Creative Commons License
This website is licensed under
a Creative Commons License.
About | Privacy Policy | Contact