head head head
Home Contact RSS Feed
$5 MP3 Album Deal: Ringo Starr ‘The Very Best Of Ringo’
Stoogeypedia   |  

the very best of ringo starr

The Very Best of Ringo, which compiles the solo hits and more from Ringo Starr, who was best known as the backbeat of The Beatles, is now available on MP3 format from Amazon this month for only $5.00. (The CD is currently $13.89 and is an AutoRip, which means with the CD purchase you’ll also get a FREE MP3 download of the entire album.)

One of the most surprising things during the wake of The Beatles’ break up as a recording and band unit in 1970 was how fast Starr achieved solo success. Between 1971 and 1975, he had amassed 7 singles in the top ten, two of them number one hits, all of which are included on this 20-song release (the irresistibly maudlin “Photograph,” the tailor made for his mid-range nasally staccato vocals “You’re Sixteen,” the got to pay your dues “It Don’t Come Easy,” and the surprisingly effective cover of The Platters ballad to end all ballads, “Only You” to name a few). The record is rounded out with songs that aren’t necessarily filler and aren’t necessarily chart hits, they lie somewhere in between, in every aspect (the standouts being the John Lennon-penned in anyone else’s hands it’s an ego fest, in Ringo’s it’s charming ad nauseum “I’m the Greatest,” and “Early 1970,” Ringo’s ode to the Beatles breakup, done again, in that polished perfect aw shucks kind of Ringo style that’s associative with him). That said, the collection still is essential and a perfect open door to entry to the solo career of The Beatle who still relishes his Beatle stereotype and all that it gave him and ultimately, the fans.

Browse hundred of albums on sale this month for only $5 each!

Track Listing

1. Photograph
2. It Don’t Come Easy
3. You’re Sixteen You’re Beautiful (And You’re Mine)
4. Back Off Boogaloo
5. I’m The Greatest
6. Oh My My
7. Only You (And You Alone)
8. Beaucoups Of Blues
9. Early 1970
10. Snookeroo
11. No No Song
12. Goodnight Vienna (It’s All Down To) (Single Version)
13. Oo-Wee
14. Have You Seen My Baby
15. Six O’Clock (Extended Version)
16. Weight Of The World
17. Never Without You
18. Act Naturally
19. Wrack My Brain
20. Fading In And Fading Out

MP3 Purchases: When you purchase MP3s through Amazon, it stores your purchases to Amazon’s Cloud Drive; from there you can stream the music right from their online player. Also, if you have a Kindle Fire, your MP3 purchases will automatically be available for you to stream on your device. All your purchases are backed up and available for you to download at any time. You can download the files to your computer to load to an MP3 device and to your iTunes account if you have one. If you’d like to gift these MP3 purchases, you can – just click the “Give album or song as gift” button on the right on the product page. From there you enter the recipient’s email address and then select either specific songs to gift or the entire album.

CD AutoRip Purchases: After you complete a purchase of an AutoRip CD, a free MP3 version of that album will be added to your Amazon Cloud Player library and will be available on your PC/Mac, Kindle Fire, Android phone, iPhone & iPod Touch, and iPad. Albums eligible for this offer are marked on with an AutoRip logo. If you do not yet have a Cloud Player account, you can activate one for free. Available to US customers only.

1 Comment »

  1. Truly a great compilation by the most underrated Beatle, but they could easily have fit a few more songs on there. Hell, they dropped three songs from the CD edition for the digital edition, so swap out the extended “Six O’ Clock” for the album version and fill in the others and you have a full disc of Ringo goodness!

    My expanded track list:
    01 – Photograph
    02 – It Don’t Come Easy
    03 – You’re Sixteen, You’re Beautiful (and You’re Mine)
    04 – Back Off Boogaloo
    05 – I’m the Greatest
    06 – Oh My My
    07 – Only You (and You Alone)
    08 – Beaucoups of Blues
    09 – Early 1970
    10 – Snookeroo
    11 – No No Song
    12 – Goodnight Vienna [single edit]
    13 – Hey Baby [bonus track, from “Ringo’s Rotogravure”]
    14 – A Dose of Rock n’ Roll [bonus track, from “Ringo’s Rotogravure”]
    15 – Oo-Wee
    16 – Have You Seen My Baby?
    17 – Six O’Clock [album version, from “Ringo”]
    18 – Weight of the World
    19 – King of Broken Hearts [bonus track, from “Vertical Man”]
    20 – Never Without You
    21 – Act Naturally [w/ Buck Owens]
    22 – Wrack My Brain
    23 – Fading in and Fading Out

    Comment by totz the plaid — January 10, 2014 @ 7:30 pm

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Leave a comment

Topics: Deals, Music, News
Previous Article
Next Article
468x60 AD END ROS -->
Geeks of Doom on Instagram Follow Geeks of Doom on Tumblr space
Geeks of Doom on YouTube Geeks of Doom on Pinterest
Geeks of Doom Email Digest Geeks of Doom RSS Feed space
The Drill Down Podcast TARDISblend Podcast Westworld Podcast
2021  ·   2020  ·   2019  ·   2018  ·   2017  ·   2016  ·   2015  ·   2014  ·   2013  ·   2012  ·   2011  ·   2010  ·   2009  ·   2008  ·   2007  ·   2006  ·   2005
Geeks of Doom is proudly powered by WordPress.

Students of the Unusual™ comic cover used with permission of 3BoysProductions
The Mercuri Bros.™ comic cover used with permission of Prodigal Son Press

Geeks of Doom is designed and maintained by our geeky webmaster
All original content copyright ©2005-2021 Geeks of Doom
All external content copyright of its respective owner, except where noted
Creative Commons License
This website is licensed under
a Creative Commons License.
About | Privacy Policy | Contact