head head head
Home Contact RSS Feed
DGA Awards 2018 Winners: ‘Get Out,’ ‘The Shape Of Water,’ ‘Big Little Lies’ Earn Top Honors
eelyajekiM   |  @   |  

Guillermo del Toro wins DGA Awards The Shape of Water

The 70th Directors Guild of America Awards (DGA) have been given out, two of which went to directors who will be vying for the Academy Award for Best Director next month. While Guillermo del Toro earned an award for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film for his work on period piece fairy tale The Shape Of Water, Jordan Peele took home the award for Outstanding Directorial Achievement of a First-Time Feature Film Director for his work on the terrifying thriller Get Out.

These awards are oftentimes a predictor of who will win the award for a said guild. SAG typically predicts who will win the performing awards, WGA the writing, PGA the best picture, and DGA the director. Check out the list of winners 2018 DGA winners for film and TV here below.

DGA Winners

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film
Guillermo del Toro – The Shape of Water
Greta Gerwig – Lady Bird
Martin McDonagh – Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
Christopher Nolan – Dunkirk
Jordan Peele – Get Out

Outstanding Directorial Achievement of a First-Time Feature Film Director
Geremy Jasper – Patti Cake$
William Oldroyd – Lady Macbeth
Jordan Peele – Get Out
Taylor Sheridan – Wind River
Aaron Sorkin – Molly’s Game

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Documentary
Ken Burns & Lynn Novick – The Vietnam War
Bryan Fogel – Icarus
Matthew Heineman – City of Ghosts
Steve James – Abacus: Small Enough to Jail
Errol Morris – Wormwood

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Dramatic Series
The Duffer Brothers – Stranger Things, “Chapter Nine: The Gate”
Reed Morano – The Handmaid’s Tale, “Offred”
Jeremy Podeswa – Game of Thrones, “The Dragon and the Wolf”
Matt Shakman – Game of Thrones, “The Spoils of War”
Alan Taylor – Game of Thrones, “Beyond the Wall”

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Comedy Series
Aziz Ansari – Master of None, “The Thief”
Mike Judge – Silicon Valley, “Server Error”
Melina Matsoukas – Master of None, “Thanksgiving”
Bethany McCarthy-Miller – Veep, “Chicklet”
Amy Sherman-Palladino – The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel”

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Movies for Television and Mini-Series
Scott Frank – Godless
Barry Levinson – The Wizard of Lies
Kyra Sedgwick – Story of a Girl
Jean-Marc Val̩e РBig Little Lies
George C. Wolfe – The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks

You can check out the full list of winners here.

1 Comment »

  1. Title … wrong order for journalism. Best New Director is a subset of Best Director. Get Out’s win isn’t as meritous as The Shape’s win.

    Comment by Steph Durant — February 7, 2018 @ 9:10 am

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Leave a comment

Previous Article
Next Article
You may have noticed that we're now AD FREE! Please support Geeks of Doom by using the Amazon Affiliate link above. All of our proceeds from the program go toward maintaining this site.
Geeks of Doom on Twitter Geeks of Doom on Facebook Geeks of Doom on Instagram Follow Geeks of Doom on Tumblr Geeks of Doom on YouTube Geeks of Doom Email Digest Geeks of Doom RSS Feed
The Drill Down Podcast TARDISblend Podcast Westworld Podcast
2023  ·   2022  ·   2021  ·   2020  ·   2019  ·   2018  ·   2017  ·   2016  ·   2015  ·   2014  ·  
2013  ·   2012  ·   2011  ·   2010  ·   2009  ·   2008  ·   2007  ·   2006  ·   2005
Geeks of Doom is proudly powered by WordPress.

Students of the Unusual™ comic cover used with permission of 3BoysProductions
The Mercuri Bros.™ comic cover used with permission of Prodigal Son Press

Geeks of Doom is designed and maintained by our geeky webmaster
All original content copyright ©2005-2023 Geeks of Doom
All external content copyright of its respective owner, except where noted
Creative Commons License
This website is licensed under
a Creative Commons License.
About | Privacy Policy | Contact