head head head
Home Contact RSS Feed
So Long New 52! DC Comics Announces 24 New Titles
Henchman21   |  @   |  

DC Comics JLA by Bryan Hitch banner

When DC Comics launched what they called “the New 52” back in 2011, their plan was to publish 52 ongoing series on a monthly basis, while tightening up their shared universe and updating it for modern readers. The plan largely worked at first, at least in terms of getting readers back and excited to read DC comics.

Today, DC has altered that plan, announcing that they will be reducing their number of releases to 49, with 24 new or rebranded titles on the way that will be replacing some of their current ones, while keeping 25 existing series. There will also be some changes to creative teams on some of these books.

See below for all the details from DC’s announcement about the post-New 52 slate, including the full list and creative team for all 49 titles, as well as some new artwork.

First up on the creative team front, Gene Luen Yang, writer of a number of acclaimed graphic novels like American Born Chinese, will be taking over writing on Superman, with John Romita Jr. staying on for art duties. Next up, Bryan Hitch (The Ultimates, The Authority) will be handling both writing and art for JLA, which will make for one nice-looking book. There will also be a new creative team on the Canadian based Justice League United, but that has yet to be announced.

In terms of the new series, we have Ming Doyle taking over the writing of Constantine, which will be relaunched as Constantine: The Hellblazer and will feature Riley Rossmo on art. Doyle will also be providing her art to Dark Universe, with writer James Tynion IV.

Fans of Garth Ennis and John McCrea’Hitman from the 90’s will be hyper excited to lean about Section Eight, a 6-issue mini-series reteaming Ennis and McCrea that will bring back many characters from that much-beloved series.

Fresh off the massive success of Harley Quinn, DC is giving not one but two new books to the writing team of Jimmy Palmioti and Amanda Conner. Palmioti and Conner will be joined by frequent collaborator Justin Gray (Jonah Hex) for a 6-issue Harley Quinn/Power Girl mini-series, art on that series will be by Stephane Roux. The duo will also launch a Starfire ongoing series, with art by Emanuela Lupacchino.

You can see the entire list of new and current DC series and their respective writers and artists here below. All of these series will start launching in June.

New Titles

Title Creative Team
Batman Beyond W: Dan Jurgens A: Bernard Chang
Bat-Mite (6-issue limited) W: Dan Jurgens A: Corin Howell
Bizarro (6-issue limited) W: Heath Corson A: Gustavo Duarte
Black Canary W: Brenden Fletcher A: Annie Wu & Irene Koh
Constantine: The Hellblazer W: Ming Doyle A: Riley Rossmo
Cyborg W: David Walker A: Ivan Reis
Dark Universe W: James Tynion IV A: Ming Doyle
Green Lantern: Lost Army W: Cullen Bunn A: Jesus Saiz & Javi Pina
Doomed W: Scott Lobdell A: Javier Fernandez
Earth 2: Society W: Daniel Wilson A: Jorge Jimenez
Dr. Fate W: Paul Levitz A: Sonny Liew
Harley Quinn/Power Girl (6-issue limited) W: Jimmy Palmiotti & Amanda Conner A: Stephane Roux
Justice League of America W: Bryan Hitch A: Bryan Hitch
Justice League 3001 W: Keith Giffen A: Howard Porter
Martian Manhunter W: Rob Williams A: Ben Oliver
Midnighter W: Steve Orlando A: ACO
Mystic U W: Alisa Kwitney A: Stay tuned for artist info!
Omega Men W: Tom King A: Alec Morgan
Prez W: Mark Russell A: Ben Caldwell
Red Hood/Arsenal W: Scott Lobdell A: Denis Medri
Robin, Son of Batman W: Patrick Gleason A: Patrick Gleason
Section Eight (6-issue limited) W: Garth Ennis A: John McCrea
Starfire W: Jimmy Palmiotti & Amanda Conner A: Emanuela Lupacchino
We Are Robin W: Lee Bermejo A: Khary Randolph

Ongoing Titles

Action Comics W: Greg Pak A: Aaron Kuder
Aquaman W: Cullen Bunn A: Trevor McCarthy
Batgirl W: Cameron Stewart & Brenden Fletcher A: Babs Tarr
Batman W: Scott Snyder A: Greg Capullo
Detective Comics W; Brian Buccelato & Francis Manapul A: Francis Manapul
Batman/Superman W: Greg Pak A: Ardian Syaf
Catwoman W: Genevieve Valentine A: David Messina
Deathstroke W: Tony S. Daniel A: Tony S. Daniel
The Flash W: Robert Venditti & Van Jensen A: Brett Booth
Gotham Academy W: Becky Cloonan & Brenden Fletcher A: Karl Kerschl
Gotham By Midnight W: Ray Fawkes A: Juan Ferreyra
Grayson W: Tom King & Tim Seeley A: Mikel Janin
Green Arrow W: Ben Percy A: Zircher
Green Lantern W: Robert Venditti A: Billy Tan
Harley Quinn W: Jimmy Palmiotti & Amanda Conner A: Chad Hardin
Justice League W: Geoff Johns A: Jason Fabok
Justice League United W: Stay tuned for creative team info!
Lobo W: Cullen Bunn A: Cliff Richards
Secret Six W: Gail Simone A: Dale Eaglesham
Sinestro W: Cullen Bunn A: Bradley Walker
New Suicide Squad W: Sean Ryan A: Carlos D’Anda
Superman W: Gene Luen Yang A: John Romita, Jr.
Superman/Wonder Woman W: Peter J. Tomasi A: Doug Mahnke
Teen Titans W: Will Pfeifer A: Kenneth Rocafort
Wonder Woman W: Meredith Finch A: David Finch

Image Gallery

Let us know if any of these new books or new creative teams has you excited to read some DC books again.

[Source: DC | DC]

No Comments »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Leave a comment

Topics: Comics, News
Previous Article
Next Article
You may have noticed that we're now AD FREE! Please support Geeks of Doom by using the Amazon Affiliate link above. All of our proceeds from the program go toward maintaining this site.
Geeks of Doom on Twitter Geeks of Doom on Facebook Geeks of Doom on Instagram Follow Geeks of Doom on Tumblr Geeks of Doom on YouTube Geeks of Doom Email Digest Geeks of Doom RSS Feed
The Drill Down Podcast TARDISblend Podcast Westworld Podcast
2023  ·   2022  ·   2021  ·   2020  ·   2019  ·   2018  ·   2017  ·   2016  ·   2015  ·   2014  ·  
2013  ·   2012  ·   2011  ·   2010  ·   2009  ·   2008  ·   2007  ·   2006  ·   2005
Geeks of Doom is proudly powered by WordPress.

Students of the Unusual™ comic cover used with permission of 3BoysProductions
The Mercuri Bros.™ comic cover used with permission of Prodigal Son Press

Geeks of Doom is designed and maintained by our geeky webmaster
All original content copyright ©2005-2023 Geeks of Doom
All external content copyright of its respective owner, except where noted
Creative Commons License
This website is licensed under
a Creative Commons License.
About | Privacy Policy | Contact