space
space
head
head head head
Home Contact RSS Feed
COMICS   •   MOVIES   •   MUSIC   •   TELEVISION   •   GAMES   •   BOOKS
The GoD List: Comics For May 23, 2012
space
Hunter Camp   |  
space

GoD List Banner

Each and every week “Batman Incorporated Is The Only Thing That Matters” MK2Fac3 and “Dirty Hench” Henchman21 read a lot of comics. Seriously you guys, a lot of comics. Maybe too many comics. I mean, it is possible… theoretically. They look forward to some more than others, I mean, who doesn’t? So, let’s take a look into the depths of their pull lists, grab some comics, and we’ll let YOU know what the top books to look forward to are for the week of May 23, 2012. Single issues and trades, they’re all here.

Guys, seriously, I love Florence + The Machine, I’m listening to their MTV Unplugged album right now, and it’s just so good. Right now is a really good time for a fan of female vocalists. Anyway, I know that has nothing to do with what we’re supposed to be talking about right now, and that’s fine, but you should know that Daniel Bryan was robbed on Sunday and he should have taken home the championship! What are we talking about again? Oh right, comics. Sure, there are comics coming out this week, but for the life of me, I can’t think of anything that I’d rather read more than Batman Incorporated, so that’s what I’ll be talking about at length, while Chris talks about some new comics, some new old comics, and some that are in between! So, strap in to your seat belts because I’m about to take you on a nice long ride where I talk a whole lot about Batman. No backseat drivers! Only The GoD List!

...continue reading »
space
 
Comic Review: Alabaster: Wolves #1
space
Waerloga69   |  @   |  
space

Alabaster: Wolves #1Alabaster: Wolves #1
Written by Caitlin R. Kiernan
Art and Letters by Steve Lieber
Colors by Rachelle Rosenberg
Covers by Greg Ruth, Michael Avon Oeming
Dark Horse Comics
Release Date: April 11, 2012
Cover Price: $3.50

As luck would have it, I just randomly chose some of the comics up for review this week. And I scored with this one, let me tell you. I read this and loved every moment of it. Alabaster: Wolves #1 stands out from the average comic book in a multitude of ways.

Caitlin R. Kiernan‘s protagonist, Dancy Flammarion, is a remarkable character in that she is both an atypical teenager and a complete badass. Backed by one of the creepiest looking angels ever, she is a dangerous slayer of all things evil. Her no nonsense attitude and inability to back down from a fight makes her a very deadly opponent, indeed. Add to that her albino skin and total disregard for niceties and you get one of the best anti-heroes I have ever seen or read.

...continue reading »
space
 
Dark Horse Comics To Publish Michael Avon Oeming’s ‘The Victories’
space
Hunter Camp   |  
space

Victories Header

Dark Horse Comics announced this week that it would be publishing Michael Avon Oeming‘s post-modern superhero tale The Victories this August.

Oeming, long-time collaborator with Brian Michael Bendis (Powers, Takio), will be taking his skills to perform both writing and art duties on his brand new mature comic The Victories. The Victories is being described as a post-modern superhero story for mature readers in the vein of Watchmen and Powers. And while those are completely different comics, the themes of turning the idea of a superhero narrative on its head is still present. We’ve seen a lot of comics attempt this brand of storytelling recently with books like Irredeemable, Kick-Ass, Empowered and many, many more to the point of near saturation, but some books still stand out, and with Oeming’s phenomenal artwork, I have no doubt that this comic will rise to the top. And if you doubt that, check out the cover image here below.

...continue reading »
space
 
Digital Comics Deal: Icon 20% Off Sale
space
Hunter Camp   |  
space

Icon Sale

Icon, the creator-owned subsidiary of publisher Marvel Comics, has possibly one of the best stables of creators and comic book titles in their arsenal, and care of Comixology, you can catch up on titles like Criminal, Powers, Casanova, and more with a cool 20 percent off sale.

Yes, that’s right! You’ve seen the praise for Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips‘ creator-owned work on this site before, and that’s with good reason, as Criminal and Incognito are two of the most innovative works in their fields. Both comics completely suck you in to their gritty, crime-ridden world setting and tell a story that is simply unforgettable. I even suggested that you catch up on Criminal on this past week’s GoD List, so if you for some reason weren’t listening to me, here’s your perfect opportunity. There’s not a single issue of Criminal or Incognito for over the price of $1.50. What are you waiting for?

...continue reading »
space
 
Comic Review: Captain Victory #1
space
PS Hayes   |  @   |  
space

Captain Victory #1Captain Victory #1
Story & Script by Sterling Gates
Art Direction & Story by Alex Ross
Art by Wagner Reis
Colors by Inlight Studios
Letters by Simon Bowland
Featuring the concepts & characters of Jack Kirby
Covers by Alex Ross, Michael Avon Oeming, Sean Chen, and Wagner Reis
Dynamite Entertainment
Release Date: November 16th, 2011
Cover Price: $3.99

I have to admit, I’ve fallen a little behind in the Kirby: Genesis universe, but Captain Victory #1 really intrigued me when it was announced a few months ago, and I’m happy to report, it is exactly what I’d hoped that it would be. A good old-fashioned sci-fi action comic, with a few twists and turns thrown in to make things interesting.

...continue reading »
space
 
Main Cast for FX’s ‘Powers’ TV Show Revealed
space
Henchman21   |  @   |  
space

Powers

The last few days have seen a flurry of activity surrounding the pilot for FX’s upcoming series Powers, based on the comic book by Brian Michael Bendis and Michael Avon Oeming. Three of the main cast members were announced in the last week by a variety of sources.

Jason Patric (Lost Boys, Speed 2) has been cast as lead character Detective Christian Walker. Joining him will be Lucy Punch (Bad Teacher, Dinner for Schmucks) as Walker’s new partner, Deena Pilgrim. Finally, it was announced yesterday that Carly Foulkes (the girl from those T-Mobile commercials) has been cast as Retro Girl, one of the superheroes in the Powers universe, and also the victim in the series’ first investigation.

...continue reading »
space
 
Get Your First Look At Brian Michael Bendis’ ‘Takio’
space
Culturesmash   |  
space

Takio! CoverBrian Michael Bendis is easily one of the most talented writers in the comics industry these days. His dialogue for Spider-Man in New Avengers is the best web head in comics currently. Sure, some of you like what happened to Spider-Man post Straczynski, but that’s another discussion. Bendis is also one of the most spread thin in the industry and as good as he is, his stories often suffer from bloat and padding in order to allow him to keep up his projects. Some of that padding may be due to the work he’s been quietly doing with artist Michael Avon Oeming on his first all-ages graphic novel titled Takio.

The graphic novel follows the multiracial sisters in an adoptive family who are set on driving each other to the brink of insanity. After a “once in a lifetime accident” the two sisters develop super powers bringing them together as the world’s first super heroes.

Check out a preview of Takio here below.

...continue reading »
space
 
Weekly Comic Book Pulls for 10-17-07
space
Henchman21   |  @   |  
space

Weekly Comic Book PullsMighty Avengers #5
Woo, it’s finally out. And I’d say it was worth the wait. Frank Cho draws a tremendous beat down between femme-Ultron and the Sentry, while the rest of the team works on a plan to stop her, and she works to launch the United States nuclear weapons. Brian Michael Bendis does a great job with the characters in this issue. Ares in particular gets his issue to shine. I also think the Bendis reached a good amount of the thought bubbles, as I’ve found them too numerous to the point of distraction in previous issues, but he made good use of them here. I only hope that issue 6 doesn’t take as long to come out. But I’m not holding my breath. —4 out of 5

PULL LIST 10-17-07

  • Mighty Avengers #5
  • Fables #66
  • Marvel Comics Presents #2
  • Wasteland #12
  • Maintenance #5
  • Powers #26
  • Scalped Vol. 1: Indian Country

Fables #66
Woo, again, as the storyline makes some forward progress. Flycatcher begins to create his new kingdom in the heart, and proves that he can be a tough ruler as he banishes Bluebeard and Shere Khan, which is all part of his plan. This puts into motion a bigger plan to attract the attention of the Adversary, and what do you know, there should be a good showdown next issue. I’ve complained a bit recently that the story has taken it’s time to get to some action, and it looks like my request has been answered. This is another great issue in a continually great series. —5 out of 5

...continue reading »
space
space space Next Articles » space
space
space
Geeks of Doom on Instagram Follow Geeks of Doom on Tumblr space
Geeks of Doom on YouTube Geeks of Doom on Pinterest
Geeks of Doom Email Digest Geeks of Doom RSS Feed space
space
Amazon.com
space
space
space
space
space
space
The Drill Down Podcast TARDISblend Podcast Westworld Podcast
space
2520 Clothing Company
space
2019  ·   2018  ·   2017  ·   2016  ·   2015  ·   2014  ·   2013  ·   2012  ·   2011  ·   2010  ·   2009  ·   2008  ·   2007  ·   2006  ·   2005
space
Geeks of Doom is proudly powered by WordPress.

Students of the Unusual™ comic cover used with permission of 3BoysProductions
The Mercuri Bros.™ comic cover used with permission of Prodigal Son Press

Geeks of Doom is designed and maintained by our geeky webmaster
All original content copyright ©2005-2018 Geeks of Doom
All external content copyright of its respective owner, except where noted
space
Creative Commons License
This website is licensed under
a Creative Commons License.
space
About | Privacy Policy | Contact
space